Aggregate login credentials - user prefered

Is this possible to allow the users to create their username and password by customizing the aggregate and odk collect?
We have to allow more than 20000 users to collect the spatial data using odk collect app. So it would be really great if users able to register by their mobile number, username and password.

Hello @munees_mariappan

I've never done this with 20,000 users before so the methods I want to suggest may be messy - at least they will spark a conversation :slight_smile:

Method 1: Hard code usernames and passwords to aggregate:
This is probably the messiest of all the ideas. If you open aggregate and enter all 20,000 usernames and passwords and assign then 'form collection privileges' they will only be able to sign into the app on their device once and use it to collect and send forms.

PROS: All users get their own unique user id and you can control it directly from aggregate
CONS: It's is extremely taxing to enter 20,000 usernames and passwords into aggregate, and managing them afterwards would be quite hectic.

Method 2: Manually code usernames and passwords to survey form and sort by geo location
To do this, assign all the 20,000 users a username, and mobile number; and further group them into geographical locations using cascade lists. At the beginning of each form, have users choose the location in which they are working and have that filter the lists down till a list of say 5-10 usernames. Have users select their names from a list to continue to do the survey. The form data will come with a column that has all usernames and mobile numbers listed in one column.

PROS:

• You do not have to provide all users with a unique username to access aggregate, they can use the same username but distinguish their forms by selecting their correct username.

CONS:

• It is extremely taxing to manually enter 20,000 user records into an ODK form manually.