Calculate Age in ODK

Hi again,

I use ODK and a I have a field date with the birthdate, and the ideai is a calculate the age, I use this formula:

• format-date(today(), ‘%Y’) - format-date(${Birthdate}, ‘%Y’)

And it work, but I need to use all the date, I mean calculate the age with the year, the month and the day.

Can someone help me, please.

Use this calculation to get the age - int((today()-${birthdate}) div 365.25,0)

1 Like

Thanks @ARIF_AZAD_KHAN, it work !!! I really apresiate your help.

on which field does the formula place? Could you give an example? I'm a rookie and I'm about the build.odk

will it run on the xls form

Hi @Daniel_Alberto_Diaz and @Health_screening_19,

It is possible to add calculations in ODK Build, it's in the Advanced options.
Screen Shot 2020-01-30 at 3.06.18 PM
But I think it is easier to use XLSForm. The docs have an example of a calculate type question.

Screen Shot 2020-01-30 at 3.09.09 PM

hi @danbjoseph think this is better. Thanks for the help, I hope someone serves my tip.

edad.xlsx (9.0 KB)

EDIT: Please also see the links later in the thread for additional discussion.

Here is a working XLSForm example:
example_edad.xlsx (9.0 KB)

You can test it at https://opendatakit.org/xlsform/

survey worksheet of attached exampe:

+-----------+------------------+---------------------+----------+---------------------------------------------------+
|   type    |       name       |        label        | required |                    calculation                    |
+-----------+------------------+---------------------+----------+---------------------------------------------------+
| date      | fecha_nacimiento | Fecha de Nacimiento | true     |                                                   |
| calculate | edad             |                     |          | int((today()-${fecha_nacimiento}) div 365.25)     |
| note      | show_age         | Edad: ${edad}       |          |                                                   |