Can ODK operate as a full database?

Hi All

I'm new to ODK. I've looked through the past messages and cannot find anything recent on this topic so apologies if the answer is already available.

I'm working on a project for a charity that really need to move from using excel to a full database. We've looked into ODK briefly and it seems that it could be very useful for data collection, but that it might not be able to act as a full scale database to manage the business through. Are we correct in this assumption or are we missing something?

If it can, can someone please point me in the right direction.

If it can't, and we need to look into something like MySQL or PostgreSQL, does anyone have any experience and / or recommendations of how best to do this for as little money as possible, ideally free obviously.

Any and all help is much appreciated

Per Setting up ODK Aggregate:

ODK Aggregate works with any of these database servers:

MySQL
PostgreSQL
Microsoft SQL Server
Azure SQL Server

Which is to say, yes, you can use a 'full database' such as MySQL or PostgreSQL as the backend repository for ODK Aggregate (which is where all your submissions are sent). And once the submission data is stored by Aggregate, you can implement whatever business logic you want against the contents of this database.

2 Likes

Hi Richard,

The community will be in a better position to assist evaluate if ODK is the best tool for your needs if you provide your use case. What type of data/information do you collect? How do you analyse and use the data? What high level problem do you want ODK to solve.

ODK 1 tools: are perfect for collecting longitudinal data

ODK 2 tools: are more focused on case management

2 Likes

Short answer - ODK is a Data collection platform that can use a database to store and analyse results (it isn't a database management system itself).