Collect question type: rank items

What is the general goal of the feature?
As a survey designer, I want to ask subjects to rank certain choices.

Currently users can get something like this functionality using choice filters (Rank options) but it's clunky. The idea would be to add a new widget that lets users drag and drop items into the desired order.

There has been discussion on the specification at https://github.com/opendatakit/xforms-spec/issues/104. The current proposal is to introduce a new odk:rank control element that works the same way as select but for which the order of the responses is meaningful. @TSC, any comments on that proposal?

@Grzesiek2010 has worked on a first pass at a possible interface:
428a637c-1ea6-11e7-81ac-6f1a689f8d0b
@danbjoseph asked here whether this dragging could be difficult on certain devices.

What are some example use cases for this feature?
Ordering elements by most liked, most important, most likely, etc.

• Medecine: rank the following symptoms
  • Household wellbeing survey: rank the importance of these household items

There has been significant demand for this over time:

What can you contribute to making this feature a reality?
Project management, code, testing.

Thanks for pushing forward on this @LN! One thing that I don't see is a clear argument for why we shouldn't just add an appearance on a multi-select?

I'm not so worried about dragging, but discoverability of the current UI might be a challenge. Can add something that looks grippable (or a four-way arrow) on the right?

@danbjoseph's suggestion of tapping the number and entering the order that way is also a very natural interaction that we can add.

1 Like