First attempt at contributing line edit

Greetings, ODK community. I am a very new participant in the ODK community. I am also new to GitHub and Atom, so this has been a thrilling day of Hello World tutorials for me! After reading through the ODK docs contribution guides and completing some of the basic tutorials, I have tried my hand at my first simple line edit to the ODK documentation, since my beginner status only qualifies me to help out with correction of minor grammatical issues at this time. I believe I made it most of the way correctly, but at the moment I attempted to use GitHub Desktop to Publish Branch, I received this message:

Authentication failed. You may not have permission to access the repository or the repository may have been archived. Open options and verify that you're signed in with an account that has permission to access this repository.

I would be most grateful for any guidance in navigating this process from those more experienced than myself. Please let me know if I have missed any steps required to begin actively contributing to documentation. Thank you all!

Hello! Thank you for attempting to contribute. I saw your intro post and I was amazed at how quickly you wanted to jump in and give back to the project.

I don't use GitHub desktop, but some Googling around suggests this might be related to Git LFS, which we use to handle all our images, videos, and other binary files.

If you haven't installed GLFS, make sure you do so.

Also, I understand some version (?) of GitHub desktop was being deprecated in the last year. Do you have the latest from GitHub, or is this an older version already on your machine?

I would also try using the command line if possible. When I first started using GitHub I used the desktop app also, but after a while I found using the command line to just be easier. Also --- all of our instructions are command-line based, so you're less likely to get tripped up. (And it'll be easier for me and others to help.)