Guillermo Gutiérrez TSC Application - 2018-07-16

Name
Guillermo Gutiérrez (@ggalmazor)

Organization
Nafundi

What contributions (e.g., issue triage, tech support, documentation, bug fixes) have you made to the ODK community?
I've been contributing to Briefcase, Aggregate, and JavaRosa for the last ten months. During this time, I've been engaged with users in the forums giving support and receiving feedback, I've created and triaged issues, I've maintained docs, and worked on the code bug fixing and adding new features, generally.

I'm also currently involved in Outreachy by mentoring an internship project for Briefcase.

How do you believe your contributions have benefited ODK?
In Aggregate, apart from bug fixing and some new features since version 1.4.15, I've modernized the development stack lowering the onboarding effort for new contributors. I've also improved Aggregate's build process to offer new deployment options such as VMs and Docker containers.

In Briefcase, apart from bug fixing and new features since version 1.9.0, I've updated the codebase to Java8, which makes the codebase more appealing for contributors, and I've made changes aimed to improve the code design, support testing, simplify work with UI components, and lower the complexity of the codebase, generally.

My involvement in JavaRosa hasn't been as important in comparison so far, but I'm helping to improve low-level testing and outside-in testing.

What do you believe the top priorities for ODK are?
First and foremost, as a platform, it needs to offer easy, reliable and secure data collection, aggregation, and interchange.

As an Open Source Software project, it needs to be appealing to new contributors and have an easy onboarding process.

As a Software project, it needs to have an automated, solid and reliable release cycle. It also needs to have a strategy to maintain complexity under control.

How will you help the ODK community accomplish those priorities?