Java licensing

As you are aware Oracle has modified licensing conditions and now permits free download and installation for personal use, development, testing, prototyping, demonstration purposes. We are about to deploy a self-hosted Windows Aggregate setup to production and are faced with the possibility that a license will be required which is undesirable as the intention is to provide an open-source solution for health. Is there a clause we are missing that excludes ODK installation from requiring a license?

2 Likes

This is a great question, @Naomi_Waithira. I am not a lawyer, but here's my understanding. Bear with me, because it's a little complicated.

According to the Oracle Java SE Licensing FAQ, Oracle as of Java 9 provides two distinct Java releases:

• Oracle OpenJDK releases under the open source GNU General Public License v2, with the Classpath Exception (GPLv2+CPE) (since Java 9)
  • Oracle Java SE product releases, which includes the Oracle JDK for Java 8 and later, and Oracle JRE with Java Web Start in Java 8, under the OTN License Agreement for Java SE. This license permits personal use, development, testing, prototyping, demonstrating and some other uses at no cost.

There are two places to check compliance with these licenses. The first place is in the building of the tools. That is ODK's responsibility. The second place is in the running of the tools. That is a user responsibility.

The tools in ODK that could use Oracle Java are Validate, Briefcase, Aggregate (including the Java inside the VM), and JavaRosa (a library that runs inside the previously mentioned tools).