New to the field, would like a 10.000ft overview

Hi guys,

I’m new to the field, and after a few days reviewing what’s out there, I’m confused about what tool/platform should I start learning. I recently joined a statistical services consultancy firm. They have participated in several projects involving surveys in African countries and for different organizations/programs (WHO, UNICEF, GAIN). They’ve used CSPro and ODK in the past, but nobody could explain the selection criteria (some employee turnover in the last few years).

I’m mostly interested in using an Free/Open Source solution. So long I’ve narrowed it down to CSPro (free but not Open Source), Open Data Kit and Kobo Toolbox.

I searched the forum and only could find a couple of (semi) related questions, one of which is probably dated by now (2011)

So basically my question is:

Do these tools overlap in functionality? I guess the answer is (partially?) yes, but I’d like to understand what are the similarities and what are the differences. One thing that really boggles me is that if you google ODK vs CSPro you won’t find much, which makes me wonder if these are actually competing offerings.

Just as some added background, I’m a software engineer, and I joined the firm to bring a robust IT solution for data collection.

Thanks for any help on this and please feel free to redirect me is this is not the appropriate forum/channel

Hi @Awer_Muller,
Thanks so much for your question! I'm afraid I can't directly answer your question, as I don't have any experience with CSPro myself.

However, there is one resource that I thought could be helpful when looking at data collection solutions, it's a couple years old, but I think gives a nice overview for benchmarking different data collection solutions, and potentially how to compare different tools (e.g., what questions to think through).

https://blog.cartong.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/Benchmarking_MDC_2017_CartONG_2.pdf